Friday, July 17, 2015

Blog Tour #review: Playing With Fire by Lexi Ryan

Adult Contemporary Romance

Release: July 7, 2015


Dr. Phoenix Reid isn't who she seems...

Everyone knows a phoenix rises from the ashes. What they don't talk about are the people she drags with her into the fire.

I thought one hot night with Max Hallowell was harmless. I never expected it would force me to face my past or bring back the man who swore he'd never let me go. Now Max wants to help me. Wants to save me. But if I let him, he'll be destroyed. I can already smell the flames.

A woman with a secret past. A man determined to protect her. A dangerous passion that could cost them both everything.


Playing With Fire by Lexi Ryan focuses on the chemistry and relationship between Nix and Max. Max is overcoming a bad marriage and raising his beautiful daughter Claire.

Phoenix, or Nix as she prefers, is a caring doctor trying to escape her tragic past. However, the evil from her past still haunts her and wants to bring her pain. Nix has a deranged ex that is determined to cleanse her of past "sins" and a family that is wrapped up in a cult like religious group that want nothing more than for her to return.

Nix has a hard time escaping not only her past, but her own guilt. While Max wants nothing more than to save her. Nix and Max are both characters that you will find yourself immersed in, and wanting nothing more for them to overcome all the obstacles that seemed determined to keep them apart. You'll specially be rooting for Max to get the girl

Lexi Ryan does a fabulous job of bringing these characters to life and making you feel their heartache and pain. Although, at times, the fact that so many characters make an appearance from other books seems a bit overwhelming, specially for someone who hasn't read the previous books. Lots of twists and turns on this book but they were developed beautifully and in no shape or form interfere with the flow of the overall story.

4 star read for me!

*** Review by Darlene ***


Playing with Fire is the first in a new series of standalone novels featuring the New Hope characters Lexi Ryan fans have come to love. While you wait for Nix and Max's story, explore Love Unbound, the collection of books set in Lexi's New Hope world.

*Note: Each series can be read on its own, but for the chronology purists, the reading order is below.

Love Unbound: Splintered Hearts

Unbreak Me (Maggie’s story)
Stolen Wishes: A Wish I May Prequel Novella (Will and Cally’s prequel)
Wish I May (Will and Cally’s novel)

Or read them together in the omnibus edition, Splintered Hearts: The New Hope Trilogy

Love Unbound: Here and Now

Lost in Me (Hanna’s story begins)
Fall to You (Hanna’s story continues)
All for This (Hanna’s story concludes)

Or read them together in the omnibus edition, Here and Now: The Complete Series

Love Unbound: Reckless and Real

Something Wild (Liz and Sam’s story begins)
Something Reckless (Liz and Sam’s story continues)
Something Real (Liz and Sam’s story concludes)

Love Unbound: Mended Hearts

Playing With Fire 

About the Author

New York Times and USA Today bestselling romance author Lexi Ryan’s novels have been described as intense, emotional, and wickedly sexy. A former college professor, she now writes full-time from her home in Indiana, where she lives with her husband, two children, and a neurotic dog. Find her on Facebook or Twitter to chat about books, TV, and her children’s latest antics.

Social Links

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Newsletter

No comments:

Post a Comment