Sunday, October 19, 2014

Blog Tour and Review: Relentless Rhythm by Michelle Mankin

Michelle Mankin is excited to share her new release Relentless Rhythm (Tempest Series)! Make sure to add to your Goodreads, order your copy & enter the GIVEAWAY below!

Release date: October 9, 2014

Come join our Release Day & Blog Tour Event

The one she really wants is out of reach.
The one he really needs is already taken.
Dizzy Lowell, rhythm man for the rising rock band Tempest is a wizard on the guitar and a wonder with women. But the hookup specialist hides his emotional scars beneath his suave exterior. He never lets anyone truly touch him.
April Reynolds, the confident bartender of the Diamond Mine, knows her way around a cocktail, but Dizzy has her all mixed up. She knows what’s safe. She’s tired of settling, though. It would be so easy to fall under his spell.
Except for that ring around her finger.
Two searching souls separated by a thin metal band.
Some dreams are dangerous.
Some secrets shouldn’t be shared.
Sometimes what we wish for most can never be.
*Each book in the Tempest series features a different band member and can be read separately, but would be even more enjoyable if read in order**

Tempest series:
Irresistible Refrain: & Audible:
Enticing Interlude:
Captivating Bridge:
I have loved every single book in this series and this one, by far, it's my favorite. 
Dizzy Lowell had an incredible sad and horrible childhood, he lived through some things that no child should be exposed to or go through. But he went through them protecting his only sister and at the end becoming a survivor, with the emotional scars to prove his ordeal. He taught himself to play the guitar becoming an extraordinary player.
Due to the nature of his past his never been into relationships or becoming emotionally attached to any woman. His ideas start changing when he meets April Reynolds, the bartender where him and his friends from Tempest hang out on their free time.
April seems well put together, to have a "normal" life, and to be in a "loving"  marriage, but nothing could be farther from reality. She's still trying to get over a heartbreaking loss that almost destroyed her, tied up to an abusive man who blames her for said loss and tries to manipulate her every step of the way.
No one knows the truth, no one knows the reality of her situation, until one day Dizzy discovers the bruises hiding underneath a scarf. The attraction he has for her pulls him to her and makes him want to be the one to know her better and save her from the hell she's been living. 
Can two broken souls help each other heal or would they be each other's downfall?
This story is full of twist and turns, some that the reader doesn't even see coming, aside from that, the roller coaster of emotions that we go through is intense. 
The two main characters are utterly broken souls, each for different reasons, yet so similar. Their lives entwined at a point where they both need it the most, and although the road for them is a very rocky one, it's beautiful to see how each other grow and realizes that there is so much more beyond what they're norm has been.
The book deals with some serious subject matters but the author does a good job of portraying them in a very respectful way. This is a series about a rock band and although we do see glimpses of that life, I love that the author focuses on the members lives as individuals and human beings than as the stage persona.
Another incredible book on this series. I really can't wait to see who and what's coming next.

Michelle Mankin is the author of the Black Cat Records series of novels.
Romance with subtext.
Reimagining classic stories with sexy rock stars and thought provoking issues.
For many years she worked in the insurance industry as an underwriter. Somehow, the boredom didn't kill her but the hours and hours of looking at facts and figures provided ample time for her mind to wander.
Black Cat Records in Vancouver provides the central backdrop for all of Michelle’s current novels. Love Evolution, Love Revolution, and Love Resolution are a Brutal Strength centered trilogy, combining the plot underpinnings of Shakespeare with the drama, excitement, and indisputable sexiness of the rock 'n roll industry.
Things take a bit of an edgier, once upon a time turn with the Tempest series. These pierced, tatted, and troubled Seattle rockers are young and on the cusp of making it big, but with serious obstacles to overcome that may prevent them from ever getting there.
When Michelle is not prowling the streets of her Texas town listening to her rock music much too loud, she is putting her daydreams down on paper or traveling the world with her family and friends, sometimes for real, and sometimes just for pretend as she takes the children to school and back.
Brutal Strength series:
Love Evolution:
Love Revolution:
Love Resolution:
Connect with Michelle Mankin on Facebook:
On Twitter:
On her website:
Receive the Black Cat Records newsletter:
a Rafflecopter giveaway 

No comments:

Post a Comment