Thursday, November 12, 2015

Blog Tour #giveaway #review: Maverick by Irish Winters

Irish Winters is an award-winning author who dabbles in poetry, grandchildren, and rarely (as in extremely rarely) the kitchen. More prone to be outdoors than in, she grew up the quintessential tomboy on a farm in rural Wisconsin, spent her teenage years in the Pacific Northwest, but calls the Wasatch Mountains of Northern Utah home. For now.
The wife of one handsome husband and mother of three perfect sons, Irish divides her time between writing at home, and travelling the country with her man while – writing. (Seriously, what else?)
She believes in making every day count for something, and follows the wise admonition of her mother to, “Look out the window and see something!”
To learn more about Irish and her books, please visit

He’s heartsick and battle-weary.
Maverick Carson returned home from war with too much pain and not enough honor. Searching for a way to forgive and forget, he quits The TEAM and starts to walk. He's walked all the way to Wyoming when the sight of a pretty girl riding a massive draft horse steals his breath—until the hillside gives way beneath the horse. Rushing to her aid, he runs straight into the world of China Wolf, the headstrong owner of the Wild Wolf Ranch and the owner of the finest Percherons in the country.
She doesn’t need a man in her life.
Never has. Never will. China Wolf has responsibility enough between the rowdy horses she loves, the wayward sister she tolerates, and the precocious niece she adores. Besides, Maverick’s made it clear he’d rather hit the road than hang around her ranch. Why should she care? She doesn’t—not until she glimpses the cowboy in his eyes. Maybe she needs a man after all.
Just. This. One.

Purchase this book here

Maverick Carson walks away from his old life and from the T.E.A.M., he needs a fresh start. And while walking towards an unsure future, he meets China Wolf.
China is strong, sweet, caring, and beautiful. She's a hard worker and a totally independent woman in charge of the Wild Wolf Ranch. She's also madly in love with her little niece, a little girl who will steal the hearts of the readers.
Maverick doesn't want a permanent home, China doesn't need a man in her life, but when their fates collide, protecting each other, the ranch and the horses that China so proudly raises, as well as little Kyrie, are the bonds that will bring them together.
Mrs. Winters brought to life a beautiful story of two people who didn't think they needed one another, but were really in desperate need of what the other had to offer. She also transports the reader to the ranch and the beauty of Wyoming, the images of the landscape are so vivid, so real, that you will feel like you were transported to the middle of the ranch, becoming one with nature.
As much as you will love Maverick, China and Kyrie, you will HATE the evil characters that surround the heroes of this book. Irish is able to communicate to her readers feelings of love, fear, hate, anger, and lost, effortlessly. It pleases me greatly when a book gives me that strong connection towards character (positive or negative.)  It makes me want to jump in, become part of the story and make them suffer, make them regret the pain that they are causing to others.
This story that has it all, suspense, a feisty heroine, a wounded, tormented hero, a sweet little girl, and evil sister, but above all, the love and support of  the T.E.A.M.
I have to say that this is my favorite book of this series so far. While the beginning only focuses on Maverick and his journey to exorcised his demons, soon we realized that our beloved T.E.A.M. has not been left out.
 This is book 9 of the series and can be read as a standalone but if you want to get familiar with the characters I recommend you read the first 8 books.

Ten Facts About the In The Company Of Snipers Series
1.            As of today, July 24, 2015, there are 15 books in the series, In the Company of Snipers: Alex, Mark, Zack, Harley, Connor, Rory, Taylor, Gabe, Maverick, Cassidy, Adam, Lee, Hunter, Jake, and Eric.
2.            The series begins with a returned war hero, USMC Staff Sergeant Alex Stewart, and his need to continue to serve his country. He starts a covert surveillance company, simply called The TEAM, in Alexandria, Virginia, close to the federal agencies he hopes will need his particular services.
3.            Alex hires ex-military snipers returning home from the war because he understands how difficult civilian life is for men like him. Already trained covert operators, his men and women make the perfect undercover agents when the State Department needs a specific enemy or ally overseas watched. Or when the FBI needs an assist extracting an agent who was never supposed to be inside enemy territory in the first place. Or when a child has been abducted out of the country by a non-custodial parent.
4.            Alex Stewart never intended to build a family, but in the process of hiring patriotic men and women of integrity and honor; warriors who’ve stood fast in the face of brutality and war, who understand the need to defend the innocent and weak—he has.
5.            Alex lives by a code of honor. He does not hire men or women who enjoy killing. His business is not a company of mercenaries for hire.
6.            I write about ex-military snipers because I want a real hero who has proven he or she isn’t afraid to take on the world.
7.            I write about strong women because my heroes deserved an equal who isn’t afraid to stand toe to toe these alpha males, love the daylights out of them, but also remind them of who they really are.
8.            I never intended to write a series, but these guys kept showing up in my dreams, needing their stories told. What else could I do?
9.            I had one signed contract with a traditional publisher and two other offers from traditional publishers on my desk when I decided to go indie. After I published my 3rd book, Zack, I received another offer for the series from another publisher. Unfortunately, they couldn’t offer anything substantial that I didn’t already have. Guess I’ll stay self-pubbed, pick my own cover art, set my own schedules, and work with people I choose. 
10.          The series is completely fiction.

To see the full blog schedule and follow along with this tour visit our
Official Event Page:

1 comment:

  1. Aww Janett. You're too good to me! It's been a busy week so I am just reading this now, but wow. I'm touched. Thank you for all you do! You make us authors into rock stars! Love you!!